Blog Page
Saturday January 19, 2019

okw news logo

OKW News | South East Oklahoma Latest News

Pro Tem-designate, Speaker announce members of bipartisan medical marijuana working group Featured

Written by  Friday, 20 July 2018 00:20
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Press release

OKLAHOMA CITY - Oklahoma Senate President Pro Tempore-designate Greg Treat and House Speaker Charles McCall on Thursday announced the lawmakers who will serve on the bipartisan, bicameral working group on medical marijuana implementation.

The legislative leaders announced the formation of the group last week. The first meeting will be July 25. Meetings will be open to the public. The working group will meet with various stakeholders and will make recommendations on a permanent regulatory framework for the implementation of State Question 788.

“The Oklahoma Senate will work to ensure the will of the people is respected. This bipartisan group of senators and representatives will work with stakeholders as we seek to develop a framework that will guide the implementation of a medical marijuana industry. Oklahoma voters made their choice, and the Senate will work to ensure State Question 788 is implemented efficiently, effectively and safely in accordance with the voters’ choice. I appreciate the senators on the working group for accepting the task and eagerly await their recommendations,” said Treat, R-Edmond.

“This group of bipartisan lawmakers will be working diligently with all the stakeholders to determine the most efficient way to enact the will of the voters,” said Speaker McCall, R-Atoka. “Oklahoma is in unchartered territory, and there are still a lot of unanswered questions and differing opinions on how to create the best regulatory framework that ensures patients have access to safe and effective medicinal products. I hope it can be done quickly, but more importantly, it needs to be done right.”
The senators serving on the working group are:
• Sen. Greg McCortney, R-Ada, co-chair
• Sen. Lonnie Paxton, R-Tuttle
• Sen. Darcy Jech, R-Kingfisher
• Sen. Julie Daniels, R-Bartlesville
• Sen. Michael Brooks, D-Oklahoma City

The representatives working on the group are:
• Rep. Jon Echols, R-Oklahoma City, co-chair
• Rep. Dustin Roberts, R-Durant
• Rep. Scott Fetgatter, R-Okmulgee
• Rep. Josh West, R-Grove
• Rep. Carol Bush, R-Tulsa
• Rep. Steve Kouplen, D-Beggs
• Rep. Ben Loring, D-Miami
• Rep. Jacob Rosecrants, D-Norman

David Deaton

Digital Editor at Oklahoma Welcome

Google +

Latest Events

Legislative Breakfast
Fri Jan 25 @ 7:30AM - 09:00AM
Gun and Knife Show
Sat Feb 02 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
Gun and Knife Show
Sun Feb 03 @ 9:00AM - 04:00PM