Tuesday December 11, 2018

okw news logo

OKW News | South East Oklahoma Latest News

Fourteen Sooners Earn Gerald Lage Academic Achievement Award Featured

Read 392 times
Written by  Tuesday, 27 February 2018 23:12
Rate this item
(0 votes)
Fourteen Sooners Earn Gerald Lage Academic Achievement Award Photo from SoonerSports.com

Written by Mike Houck | Assistant AD/Strategic Communications - University of Oklahoma Athletics Department


NORMAN — Fourteen University of Oklahoma student-athletes are among the 92 from the Big 12 Conference who have been bestowed the 2018 Dr. Gerald Lage Academic Achievement Award, the league's highest academic honor. OU's 14 honorees are tied with Kansas and Oklahoma State for most in the conference, and are five more than the previous high for the Sooners (nine in 2011).


In order to be eligible for the accolade, student-athletes must have lettered at least once in their career while maintaining residence at their institution for at least one academic year. The honorees, who can only be recognized once, should have 100 hours of earned credit with a cumulative grade-point average of 3.80 at the time of the nomination.


The Sooners named to the prestigious listing include junior Andrea Batchev (rowing; chemical biosciences), senior Stefani Catour (women’s gymnastics; human relations), redshirt sophomore Kaylee Dao (soccer; arts and sciences — planned programs), senior Louise Kuehster (rowing; chemical engineering — biotechnology), junior Madeleine Lange (rowing; classics), junior Nicole Lehrmann (women’s gymnastics; biology), senior Lizzie Luallin (soccer; health and exercise science), senior Lily Miyazaki (women’s tennis; management of information technology), senior Paige Parker (softball; arts and sciences — planned programs), redshirt junior Griffin Pierce (men’s golf; accounting), Gabbi Ortiz (women’s basketball; human relations), senior Taylor Spencer (rowing; professional writing), senior Belle Wallace (track and field/cross country; arts and sciences — planned programs) and senior Lea Wodach (softball; health and exercise science).


In its eighth year, the award has honored a total of 580 Big 12 student-athletes and is in memory of Lage, who served as the Oklahoma State faculty athletics representative with the NCAA and the Big Eight/Big 12 Conference from 1983 until his death in 2007. He was the chairman on three occasions (1985-86, 93-94 and 2003-04).


The Dr. Gerald Lage Academic Achievement Award recipients will receive public recognition at the Phillips 66 Big 12 Men's Basketball Championship, scheduled for March 7-10 at Sprint Center in Kansas City, Mo.


Read 392 times
David Deaton

Digital Editor at Oklahoma Welcome

Google +

Latest Events

Wister Christmas Parade
Mon Dec 10 @ 6:00PM - 07:00PM
Wilson Family Music Concert
Thu Dec 13 @ 7:00PM - 09:00PM
Heavener Christmas Parade
Sat Dec 15 @ 6:00PM - 07:00PM
A Midnight Affair
Mon Dec 31 @ 8:30PM - 12:30PM
A Midnight Affair
Tue Jan 01 @ 8:30PM - 12:30PM