Monday, 07 December 2020 17:13


Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Press Release

NORMAN — Oklahoma kicker Gabe Brkic and quarterback Spencer Rattler were named semifinalists Monday for the 2020 Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award and the 2020 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award.
Brkic, one of 20 semifinalists for the 2020 Lou Groza Award, has made 16 of 21 field goals and all 40 of his PAT attempts in his eight games this season. The redshirt sophomore has made 6 of 10 field goal attempts from 40 yards or longer and connected on three field goals from at least 50 yards, including a career-long 51-yarder at Iowa State on Oct. 3.
The Chardon, Ohio, product is tied for the national lead by averaging 2.0 made field goals per game and ranks 12th nationally with his 88 total points and 13th nationally with 10.6 points scored per game. He is 33 for 38 (.868) on career field goal attempts and has made all 92 of his PAT tries. Brkic was also a semifinalist for the Lou Groza Award last season.
Rattler is one of only two freshmen and one of three Big 12 quarterbacks among the 17 semifinalists for the Davey O'Brien Award. The redshirt freshman has completed 178 of 260 passes (69%) for 2,512 yards and 24 touchdowns, compiling a 174.7 passing efficiency rating. He has also rushed for four TDs. He has thrown for at least two touchdown passes in eight of nine games, has registered at least three TD passes in four contests and had four in the Missouri State, Kansas State and Oklahoma State outings.
Among freshman quarterbacks, the Phoenix, Ariz., product paces the country in passing touchdowns (24), passing offense (279.1 ypg), yards per pass attempt (9.7) and total offense (290.6 ypg). Among all players who have played more than three games this season, Rattler ranks eighth in passing TDs, 10th in yards per pass attempt, 12th in pass efficiency rating (174.7), 16th in yards per completion (14.1), 15th in completion percentage (68.5) and 18th in passing offense.
The three finalists for both the Lou Groza Award and the Davey O'Brien Award will be named on Dec. 22. The second round of fan voting for the O'Brien Award is now open via Twitter, Instagram and Facebook, and will close on Sunday, Dec. 20.
Oklahoma (7-2, 6-2 Big 12) concludes the regular season at West Virginia (5-4, 4-4 Big 12) on Saturday. Kickoff is set for 11 a.m. CT on ABC. The Sooners will play Iowa State in the Big 12 Championship on Dec. 19 in Arlington, Texas.



Founded in 2012, our goal is to bring you the latest news with a focus on Poteau, LeFlore County and Southeast Oklahoma. So Much More than News - News as it Happens 24/7! FREE