Thursday, 24 September 2020 21:56

OU’s Sylvie Named to Allstate AFCA Good Works Team

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)


NORMAN — Oklahoma senior cornerback Chanse Sylvie has been named to the 2020 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team, the organizations announced Wednesday.

Sylvie is part of the prestigious group of 22 college football players selected for their extraordinary commitment to making a lasting impact off the field. He is one of 11 FBS student-athletes, including three from the Big 12, to earn Good Works Team recognition for his contributions to the community and world at large.

Since the summer, Sylvie has taken on a prominent role in advocating for police reform. He developed a plan of action that received media attention as well as the attention of local authorities and politicians. He met with Oklahoma state representatives, the Norman Police Department and officials with the City of Norman.

Sylvie, a 2018 graduate with a political science degree who is pursuing his master’s in global affairs, established the OneMindset Foundation in his hometown of Shreveport, La., with the purpose of empowering the betterment of the community. In addition, he was selected by the mayor of Shreveport to serve on city’s young adult action committee.

On campus, Sylvie is a member of the Fellowship of Christian Athletes, where he has visited patients at the OU Children’s Hospital and participated in the hospital’s prom event and the Art With a Heart art show. He has also volunteered with the J.D. McCarty Center for children with developmental disabilities, visited the veteran’s center in Norman and spoken to children at area middle schools. As a member of the Omega Psi Phi fraternity he has organized presentations focused on mental health, sexual assault and police relations, and helped organize mentorships and events to feed homeless in the area.

On the field, Sylvie has played in 39 career games and been credited with 26 total tackles, including one stop in the season opener against Missouri State. He appeared in 12 contests last season, making five solo tackles on special teams after missing most of the 2018 campaign with an injury. He notched a career-high 15 total stops and was named to the Big 12 All-Academic First Team in 2017.

Sylvie is the sixth Oklahoma football player named to the AFCA Good Works Team, joining Jacob Gutierrez (2006), Nic Harris (2007), Gerald McCoy (2008), Quinton Carter (2010) and Caleb Kelly (2018).

Fans are encouraged to visit to vote for the 2020 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team Captain now through Nov. 22, 2020. Throughout the season, fans can follow along and join in on the conversation by using #GoodWorksTeam on their social media channels.


The Allstate AFCA Good Works Team was established in 1992 by the College Football Association to recognize extra efforts by players and student support staff off the field. AFCA became the governing body of the award in 1997 and continues to honor players who go the extra mile for those in need. Allstate became the presenting sponsor starting with the 2008 season.

The following players and honorary head coach have been named to the 2020 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team:

Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS)

Trevor Lawrence - Clemson University

Rakavius Chambers - Duke University

Trenton Gill - NC State University

Chuba Hubbard - Oklahoma State University

Treyjohn Butler - Stanford University

Elijah Hicks - University of California, Berkeley

Luke Fortner - University of Kentucky

Adam Shibley - University of Michigan

Teton Saltes - University of New Mexico

Chanse Sylvie - University of Oklahoma

Sam Ehlinger - University of Texas

Combined Divisions (FCS, II, III & NAIA)

Mike Delich - Bethel University (Minn.)

Alexander Findura - Bloomsburg University

Jacob Norris - Chadron State College

Tyler Bradfield - Grand Valley State University

DaShawn Simon - Howard University

Stephen Stokes - North Carolina Central University

Chris Backes - Saint John’s University (Minn.)

Jackson Ross - University of Chicago

Steven Spirakis - University of Rochester

Andrew Whitaker - Washington University in St. Louis

Jace Neugebauer - William Penn University

Honorary Head Coach

Neal Brown - West Virginia University