Eight Razorback Alums Compete In Memphis This Weekend

Friday, 29 July 2022 07:41

Eight Razorback Alums Compete In Memphis This Weekend

Written by Press Release
Rate this item
(0 votes)
Eight Razorback Alums Compete In Memphis This Weekend Razorbacks Communications

MEMPHIS – A group of eight Arkansas alums will be competing this weekend at the 6th annual Ed Murphey Classic, a meet that is categorized as a World Athletics Continental Tour Silver event.

The Classic, part of the American Track League, will be held on Friday and Saturday at the Billy J. Murphy Track Complex on the South campus of the University of Memphis while the pole vault will be staged on Beale Street Saturday evening.

Saturday’s portion of the meet will air on ESPN2 from 10:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. Coverage of the street vault will be available through ESPN3 from 5:30 to 9:30 p.m. Friday’s distance races are available through a paid stream (https://edmurpheyclassic.com/watchlive.)

The crew of Razorbacks competing on Friday include Shafiqua Maloney (800m) and Carina Viljoen (1,500m), along with Gilbert Boit, Austen Dalquist, and Amon Kemboi in the 3,000m.

Saturday’s portion includes Maloney (400m), Kiara Parker (100m), Marqueze Washington (200m), and Andrew Irwin (pole vault).

In the 800m race, Maloney will race in section 2 along with a field which includes Jazmine Fray, Danae Rivers, and Kaela Edwards. Joining Viljoen in the 1,500m are Josette Norris, Marta Pen Freitas, Sage Hurta, and Christina Aragon.

Racing over 3,000m with the Arkansas trio of Boit, Dalquist, and Kemboi are Morgan McDonald, Emmanuel Bor, Charles Philibert-Thiboutot, and Alec Basten.

The sprint field for the women’s 100m Parker is contesting includes TeeTee Terry, English Gardner, Murielle Ahoure, Cambrea Sturgis, Teahna Daniels, Mary Beth Sant-Price, and Tamari Davis.

Washington faces a 200m field that includes Noah Williams, Trevor Stewart, Kyree King, and Cravont Charleston.

Racing in section 2 of the 400m, Maloney will race against Phyllis Francis, Kyra Jefferson, Shakima Wimbley, and Kimberly Hyacinthe.

The men’s street vault Irwin is part of will have nine vaulters, including U.S. champion Chris Nilsen, who recently earned a silver medal at the World Championships and was the silver medalist in the Tokyo Olympics. The field also includes KC Lightfoot, Jacob Wooten, Matt Ludwig, and Clayton Fritsch.

The Ed Murphey Classic is named after the late Ed Murphey, who had an illustrious career at the University of Tennessee and claimed SEC mile titles from 1955-1957.

Ed Murphey Classic | Friday, July 29 & Saturday, July 30 | University of Memphis

Entries & Schedule | Arkansas alums

800: (7:45 pm): Shafiqua Maloney
1500 (9:35 pm): Carina Viljoen
3,000 (10:05 pm): Gilbert Boit, Austen Dalquist, Amon Kemboi
100 prelims (10:52 am): Kiara Parker
100 final (12:10 pm): Kiara Parker
200 (12:18 pm): Marqueze Washington
400 (12:30 pm): Shafiqua Maloney
Pole Vault (7:30 pm): Andrew Irwin [held as a street vault on Beale Street]

Founded in 2012, our goal is to bring you the latest news with a focus on Poteau, LeFlore County and Southeast Oklahoma. So Much More than News - News as it Happens 24/7! FREE