Monday, 29 October 2018 07:41

Eastern’s PTK Society claims ninth consecutive victory in statewide voter registration contest Featured

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Press release



WILBURTON, OK (Oct. 29, 2018) – Eastern Oklahoma State College’s Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) honor society recently earned its ninth consecutive victory in Oklahoma Campus Compact’s statewide voter registration competition.

Members of Eastern’s Theta Pi chapter registered an additional 16.1 percent of Eastern’s student population to claim victory in the small institution category. Eastern’s PTK officer team has been invited to accept the award at a ceremony during the December meeting of the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education. This team includes President Tanner Jarrett of Ada; Vice President of Scholarship Trey Boggs of Cameron; Vice President of Leadership Dale Shackleford of Noble; Vice President of Service Christopher Herb of Moore; Vice President of Fellowship Mackenzie Green of Talihina; and Secretary Bianca Medina of Hartshorne.

This year’s competition included 21 Oklahoma colleges and universities, and resulted in 3,117 in-state and 127 out-of-state new registered voters. At Eastern and across the state, these figures represent a 50 percent increase in the number of new in-state voters compared to last year’s contest.

The competition is comprised of four categories based on full-time student populations. Eastern is in the DEMOCRACY category for state universities and colleges with 1-1,500 FTE (full-time-equivalent students). The runner-up for the DEMOCRACY category was Seminole State College with 6 percent of its students registered.

The LIBERTY category (1,501-3,000 FTE) winner was Langston University with 10.7 percent. The EQUALITY category (3,001-7,000 FTE) was East Central University with 10.5 percent of their student population. The INDEPENDENCE category (7,001-30,000 FTE) was won by the University of Oklahoma with 2.7 percent.

Additionally, a category awarded colleges and universities for the most out-of-state students registering to vote in their states. Eastern registered the highest percentage of out-of-state students at 8 percent to claim the STRIPES Award. Langston University won the STARS Award by registering 68 out-of-state students to vote, the highest number of a participating institution.

Campus Compact is a national coalition of nearly 1,200 colleges and universities committed to campus-based civic engagement. Oklahoma Campus Compact works with the national office to prepare students for a life of engaged citizenship through involvement in community service and learning.

David Deaton

Digital Editor at Oklahoma Welcome

Google +