3 OSU faculty members earn top scientific fellowship 

Thursday, 25 April 2024 12:28

3 OSU faculty members earn top scientific fellowship  Featured

Written by News Release
Rate this item
(0 votes)

(STILLWATER, Okla., April 25, 2024) — Three Oklahoma State University faculty members have received one of the highest honors within the scientific community. 

Dr. Jayson Lusk, vice president and dean of OSU Agriculture, Dr. Scott Senseman, associate vice president of OSU Ag Research, and Dr. Raj Singh, Materials Science and Engineering Regents Professor in the College of Engineering, Architecture and Technology, have been named 2024 Honorary Fellows by the American Association for the Advancement of Science. 

AAAS Fellows are a distinguished group of scientists, engineers and innovators who are recognized for their achievements across disciplines, including research, teaching, technology, administration in academia, industry and government, as well as excellence in communicating and interpreting science to the public. 

Eligible nominees are members whose efforts to advance science or its applications are scientifically or socially distinguished. Election as an AAAS Fellow is a lifetime honor. Fellows are elected annually and are recognized at the AAAS Fellows Forum in Washington, D.C., for their achievements. 

The trio will receive a certificate and the traditional rosette, symbolizing the award since 1874.  

The AAAS, founded in 1848, is the world’s largest general scientific society. The nonprofit includes over 250 affiliated societies and science academies, serving 10 million individuals. 

“When OSU’s faculty are recognized by national organizations as leaders in their disciplines, it shines a bright light on the university,” said Dr. Kenneth Sewell, OSU vice president for research. “Recognition by the largest scientific organization in the U.S. carries particular weight. Drs. Lusk, Senseman and Singh are true leaders in their fields at OSU and nationwide. We couldn’t be prouder of them as members of the Cowboy family.” 

 Lusk was awarded for “distinguished contributions to the field of agricultural economics, particularly for research and the communication and interpretation of the science underpinning predictions of consumer food demand.” 

 “OSU Agriculture is leading the way with more than 50 of our scientists as members of AAAS, with some publishing significant advances in science in the organization’s prestigious journal, ‘Nature,’” Lusk said. “I am honored to join the ranks in an organization that, at its roots, is interested in scholarship and innovation to benefit people across the globe.” 

 Senseman was recognized for “distinguished contributions in research, teaching and administration in the field of agronomy, particularly in residue chemistry, mode of action and environmental fate of herbicides in agricultural systems.” 

“This is a very special honor, and I am profoundly humbled by it,” Senseman said, “This is an acknowledgment of the students who allowed me to be part of their scientific journey, the colleagues I had the opportunity to work with and learn from, and the support of my wife, Laura, during the last three decades of a demanding career. I have no doubt we will continue to accomplish unique innovations and solutions within OSU Ag Research.” 

According to AAAS, Singh is honored “for pioneering and game-changing scientific and technological contributions to the field of materials, particularly transformative processing and manufacturing of Ceramic Composites, leading to technology insertion into commercial jet engines.” 

 “I am proud of having professor Singh, a recognized leader in ceramic matrix composites, in our college,” said Dr. Hanchen Huang, CEAT dean. “As an elected Fellow of AAAS, Dr. Singh represents OSU well and is in a great position to shape national policies of sciences.” 

 Singh encourages students in the engineering field to remain curious, persevering, creative, inventive and passionate about their field.  

 “Ultimately, use your knowledge and skills to create new materials and products to benefit society, the nation and the world,” Singh said. “Never forget to be curious and inventive. It should be a lifelong pursuit.” 


Oklahoma State University is a premier land-grant university that prepares students for success. Through teaching, research and Extension, OSU engages communities and empowers servant-leaders to meet society’s most pressing challenges. OSU is the largest university system in Oklahoma and has more than 34,000 students across its five-campus system and more than 25,000 on its combined Stillwater and Tulsa campuses, with students from all 50 states and more than 125 nations. Established in 1890, OSU has graduated more than 280,000 students to serve the state of Oklahoma, the nation and the world. 


Founded in 2012, our goal is to bring you the latest news with a focus on Poteau, LeFlore County and Southeast Oklahoma. So Much More than News - News as it Happens 24/7! FREE