Thursday, 06 July 2017 17:11

Governor Mary Fallin Seeks Assistance for May Tornadoes, Flooding and Severe Storms Featured

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

OKLAHOMA CITY – According to a press release from Governor Mary Fallin, the state of Oklahoma has requested a major disaster declaration from the federal government for 16 counties impacted by severe weather that occurred May 16-20.

If approved, the designation would deliver federal funding to assist municipalities, counties and rural electric cooperatives with infrastructure repairs, debris removal, and costs associated with responding to the storm.

The counties are: Alfalfa, Beckham, Cherokee, Coal, Cotton, Delaware, Johnston, LeFlore, Murray, Muskogee, Okfuskee, Okmulgee, Pittsburg, Pontotoc, Roger Mills and Washita.

The storms caused extensive flooding, power outages and dangerous travel conditions in the impacted counties. Thirty-eight tornadoes were reported from May 16-20, including three EF2 tornadoes near Elk City, Hanna and Muskogee. One death and multiple injuries were attributed to the storm.

Damage assessments indicate the storm resulted in more than $6.5 million in infrastructure damage, debris and response costs.

Additional counties may be added to the public assistance declaration request at a later date should conditions warrant.



David Deaton

Digital Editor at Oklahoma Welcome

Google +